The League was formed in 1949 by Guy Powell of Tadcaster Tennis Club. The League was formed to promote tennis matches between clubs in the Leeds and York areas, founding members were:- Tadcaster, Sherburn, Tockwith, Clifford and Scholes. These clubs all played for the Riley-Smith trophy which was donated by Mr Riley-Smith owner of John Smiths Brewery.

Today sees 3 mixed divisions, a Men’s division and a cup competition. Mixed matches consist of 3 couples playing 12 games against each other couple, Divison Three and Men’s format is 2 couples.

Below are photgrpahs taken at the 2017 cup final between Wakefield and David Lloyd, played at Roundhay. It was a closely fought match going to four sets all before the last men’s set which David Lloyd took to give them a 5 sets to 4 victory.

For further details, on  the senior league please contact Steve Webster on batennis401@gmail.com

Clubs: Bardsey, Barwick, Boston Spa, Chapel Allerton ,Cliffe, Collingham, David Lloyd, Horsforth, Kirkstall,  Roundhay, Rowntree Park, Scholes, St Chads, Thorner, Whitkirk, Wakefield.